busy mom beach hair

I’ve had long hair with layers, long hair with bangs, a long bob, chocolate brown hair with caramel highlights, light brown hair with auburn highlights…the list goes on. I normally tire of my hairstyle after a few months but my recent cut and color has been on point thanks to my good friend, Ann.

Sometimes short hair can actually take more work than long hair since you can’t just throw it in a ponytail. I love doing beach waves for two reasons:

  1. It’s a good choice for date night.
  2. It’s a good choice for when I’m rushed in the morning, have no time to shower, and my bed head is atrocious.

I wash my hair every other day at the minimum. My hair curls much better on those in between days; however, today I was on day 3 and due to wash it. After I towel-dry my hair, I spray it with Toni & Guy Sea Salt Spray. Out of all the sea salt sprays I have tried, this one doesn’t leave a super sticky residue.

I then twist sections of my hair at random and let it air dry while I apply my makeup.

My hair is usually a bit damp. I then tousle it while blow-drying. I have extremely thick hair but since it’s short now, it only takes about 5 minutes to completely dry. (And look…I have eyebrows now!)

 

Since I’m doing beach waves, I want my dry hair to be disheveled. To add more texture to my clean hair, I spray Amika Un.Done Texture Spray to my roots. I use Garnier Fructis Flat Iron Spray on the ends to protect my hair from the heat about to be applied.

Taking small sections of hair, I curl with a small flat iron. Yes, it seems like an oxymoron but a flat iron with curved sides is the best way to achieve this look. Start a couple inches from the root and then with a flip of your wrist, curl away from your face. Hold for about 5 – 8 seconds and be sure to leave the ends out.

I concentrate only on the top layer of my hair since it’s an inverted bob. If you have longer hair, I would do some of the underneath layers but not all. It seriously takes me less than 5 minutes to curl my entire head which is the equivalent of three “Mommy! Mommy!” Once it’s all done, I scrunch Sebastian Potion 9 in the ends to help with any frizz. A light mist of Toni & Guy Firm Hold Hairspray and I’m good to go!

I love this quick and easy way to style my hair. What’s your go-to look?

IMG_6520

2 responses to “busy mom beach hair

Leave a comment