Strobing: The New Trend

Just when I mastered the art of highlighting and contouring, there’s a new makeup trend. If you haven’t yet heard, strobing is where it’s at. Instead of using makeup that is 2 shades lighter and darker than your foundation to create light and shadows, you are ONLY highlighting your face. It’s been huge in France for a while and it creates a dewy look instead of a matte one. 

I didn’t realize I sometimes do this but it was basically just a lazy girl version of HAC. Now as someone who has oily skin, I wasn’t sure if a dewy face during the Chicago summers is a look I want to achieve. However, it’s raining and a bit chilly today so I don’t have to worry too much about my face looking like an oil slick. 

Since we are focusing only on the areas the light naturally hits, you want to strobe (I know, it sounds weird but think of the part of your face that is visible when a strobe light is on. I’m having faint memories of afterhours college parties…) the top of your cheekbones, middle of forehead, bridge of nose, cupid’s bow, and chin. You can go a step further and do right below your browbone and inner corner of your eye. 

First I had to decide which products to use. 

  
Since we want to stay away from a matte finish, I used Younique’s BB Cream in Honey for a base. I initially mixed Younique’s Mineral Concealer in Foxy with Curious eye pigment. I applied to my cheekbones and nose with a fan brush. Mine came in a set from Cala but you can use whatever brand you prefer. 

It looked great when I put it on but unfortunately, it didn’t show up well in photos. I then used NYX Cosmetics Born to Glow Illuminator in Gleam on top of it. This looked much better in photos so I think I would prefer a cream-based version for all-day wear. I then applied it to my cupid’s bow and chin. 

I used Younique’s Splurge Cream Shadow in Elegant on my brow bone and inner eye. I even took it to the next level and put a dot over my lip gloss in the center of my lower lip. I chose to not do my forehead because it’s so shiny anyway and I really don’t need to attract more attention to it. 

  
I’m pretty happy with the results. It’s a great way to achieve a natural glow. It also made me embrace my freckles since I’m not using a full-coverage foundation. 

Do you plan on trying strobing? If you already have, what did you think?

  

6 responses to “Strobing: The New Trend

  1. It’s funny that this is a trend to me. I guess, like you said, you sort of already did this before they named it! I love this look. I read about it somewhere else today too and thought, “gosh, I think I already do this” and now we have a name for it 🙂 You look beautiful as always!!!

    Like

  2. This is what I did before highlighting and contouring came to be a big trend. I was never a fan of H&C – it looks too sculpted. This is a trend I can jump on!

    -E

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: anniversary date night | April's Lush Lashes·

Leave a comment